2023 Rewind

Jackson Chen
4 min readDec 30, 2023

Hello everyone, the following is my rewind of 2023.

Taipei 101 night view

First, I would like to thank the people who helped me this year, including my family and friends, who allowed me to spend this year healthy and smoothly.

Next, I will chronologically review the major and minor events that happened to me this year.

LeetCode

2023 LeetCode Rewind

At the beginning of this year, to prepare for the summer internship interviews that I expected to invest in, one of the preparations was to practice for programming interviews. I practiced through various competitive programming websites, among which LeetCode is the website I use the most. I also know it through finding out the practice method that suits you by watching various types of people use LeetCode.

Below is the solution method I have recorded before.

jacksonchen1998/LeetCode: I will try to use many ways to solve the Leetcode problem (github.com)

Kaohsiung trip

This trip was invited by my good friend Kim. We went south from Hsinchu to Kaohsiung to see Dwight Howard, a former NBA star player.

Kaohsiung is a very special city, including its street scene, food culture, and geographical landscape.

The beach at Sun Yat-sen University

Alma mater, Chang Gung University

There are many opportunities to return to university this year, including the OB game for the Department of Computer Science and Engineering basketball team, the oral examination for my college roommate’s master’s thesis, the university’s special exhibition, etc.

One of the things that impressed me deeply was when I returned to find my general education teacher. He published a book called Politics of Thinking. It was an honor for me to find the teacher’s signature after graduation. It was a happy thing for me as I had promised.

Politics of Thinking

Coldplay concert

Speaking of promises, the Coldplay concert has been buried in my bucket list for six years. It was my regret not to go to Taoyuan for dinner in my third year of high school. Finally, this year, they come to Taiwan again.

On the concert day, 2023/11/11, I took the high-speed rail from Hsinchu to Zuoying Station. Following the crowds of people on the road, I knew my dream would come true in a few hours.

From the time Accusefive opening guests greeted me until I left midway, I swayed to the rhythm of every song and enjoyed the current atmosphere along with the tens of thousands of fans present.

Road running

In fact, since last year, I have gradually started investing in road running. I will be more motivated to practice by signing up for road running activities. This year, in addition to signing up for the Pocari 10K last year, I also signed up for my first half marathon, the Taipei Marathon, at the end of the year through the recommendation of my relatives.

During the running process, I experienced peace and a sense of fulfillment through my own efforts, which also made me certain that this sport would play a important part in my life.

Taipei Marathon

Self-study

Originally, this was one of the ten items on my Todo List this year.

In addition to my originally planned iThome Ironman race this year, I have met many talented people through different opportunities and learned about the things I love from their perspectives, including Google Developer Group, Intel Enterprise Courses for Enterprise Navigators, ASRU conferences where labs submit papers, etc.

During the communication process, it is an exciting process to maintain a humble attitude to absorb knowledge and step out of your comfort zone.

ASRU 2023

An unexpected surprise

However, something unexpected happened this year. I met someone who is very important to me now. It is an honor to get to know her. I plan to use my strength to protect this happiness in the coming days.

Christmas Eve

Finally, thank you to everyone who read my article, see you next year! I will publish my article about my own 2024 plan in the next few days.

JC-Blog (jacksonchen1998.github.io)

--

--