2024 New Year Resolution

Jackson Chen
3 min readDec 31, 2023

At the beginning of last year, I also scheduled ten things I planned for 2023 and a 3-day challenge for myself.

Before planning this year, review the ten things I committed to last year.

2023 To-Do List

  1. Say Hello and Goodbye at least three times per day
  2. Summer Internship
  3. iThome Challenge
  4. Master Thesis Motivation
  5. Seldom eat junk food and sugar drinks
  6. LeetCode completed 100 questions
  7. TOEIC® Listening and Reading Test (Gold Certificate)
  8. Be kind
  9. Read at least three books
  10. Taking pictures to save the great moment

Say Hello and Goodbye at least three times per day

Saying hello is one thing I have to work on.

Is it polite?

Although sometimes it is a bit embarrassing, or because I am not in the right mood, I have listed this as one of the things I must do in 2023.

But whether I have done this more often than before, I don’t have a record of it, so I’m unsure whether it counts as a success. 🤣

Summer Internship

This is one of the things I pay the most for in 2023. I have been preparing for this thing from the beginning of the year to May, including LeetCode exercises, actively updating resumes, and learning relevant courses online by myself.

In the process of submitting job vacancies, I will record every interview and the results, which can be regarded as accumulating a lot of experience points.

I originally wanted to write a Medium article to record these things when there are vacancies for summer internships. However, the actual results also let me understand my shortcomings.

The job vacancies I applied for were mainly software engineers and data scientists.

I actually interviewed for about 7 jobs, and in the end, I was only accepted for one job. However, due to certain reasons, I am considering turning down the job.

I will rate the completion of this thing at 50%.

iThome Challenge

To put it simply, I successfully completed the goal I originally set. I completed the iThome Challenge with the theme of ML from Scratch.

In addition, I also completed the iThome Challenge in another project through Kotlin is all you need.

Master Thesis Motivation

For this year, I mainly focus on my laboratory project to plan the direction of my master’s thesis.

Fortunately, I have my motivation, but the relevant details include how to judge the quality of my method.

One of my main goals in 2024 is to successfully complete my master’s degree.

Seldom eat junk food and sugar drinks

A healthy body is the most important thing in my life.

This year, I have maintained my health by reducing my junk food intake and lowering the sugar content of drinks.

Although I may not succeed every day, I have generally completed my original plan.

LeetCode completed 100 questions

As I mentioned in 2023 Rewind, I successfully practiced 200 LeetCode questions this year, but I also discovered areas for improvement during the course of practice.

TOEIC® Listening and Reading Test (Gold Certificate)

At the beginning of the year, I made plans to obtain a TOEIC license.

There were two reasons for this:

  1. The original license had expired
  2. There was still room for improvement in my last score.

But it turned out I didn’t spend much time on this project, and it was the only one I didn’t complete. 🫠

Be kind

When you have a choice of being right or kind, choose kind.

Read at least three books

Here’s a list of books I’ve read this year

  1. 我們,長期抗戰中:第一線護理人員的疫情觀察誌
  2. 哈佛 ✕ Google行為科學家的脫單指南
  3. Jay的跑步筆記:矽谷工程師激勵上萬人的科學化訓練與生活哲學
  4. 諮商技術

Taking pictures to save the great moment

This is mainly achieved on Instagram, which can be considered a success. Practice and record my own life.

2024 To-Do List

  1. Keep learning
  2. Complete my master’s degree
  3. Find a desired job
  4. Road running (21k to 42k)
  5. LeetCode Contest Ranking 1800+
  6. TOEIC® Listening and Reading Test (Gold Certificate)
  7. Read at least five books
  8. Be kind
  9. Health diet
  10. Care for the people who love me or help me

Finally, I wish everyone a healthy and happy New Year and may all your wishes come true.

--

--